Teach Your Child the Quality of Serving Others

SRF Summer Day Program Boys meditating

Life should be chiefly service.

~Sri Paramahansa Yogananda

Tip for parents: This article is for you to read with your child. It contains a prayer, stories, affirmations and videos, all meant for children.

Prayer for children

Divine Mother, teach me to love others and to serve them. I want my friends to keep their promises to me, so help me always to be true to my own word. May I make my parents happy, my teachers happy, and my playmates happy. I will find my happiness in their joy.

~Sri Paramahansa Yogananda (Whispers From Eternity)

Story: Master gives $250 to a shopkeeper

(Source: Devotee notes)

Brother Bhaktananda and Paramahansa Yogananda

Brother Bhaktananda, a disciple of Master, said: One time Master was walking with two disciples down the street in Encinitas. They passed several shops. Suddenly Master stopped and went back two doors, then went inside. The establishment was a toy store. Master began playing with the toys, taking one after another off the shelf – many of them were wind-up toys - and having delight in playing with them on the floor. Over and over he exclaimed, “American ingenuity! American ingenuity!”

The disciples did not know what to make of this – they felt a little embarrassed and were picking up the toys and replacing them when Master was finished with them. The owner of the store was watching them, sometimes smiling and sometimes looking sad. Then Master started driving around the store in a little toy automobile. After a while, he looked at the owner of the store and then he took out his wallet and gave the man $250. The disciples were amazed because $250 was a lot of money back then.

The owner said, “This is quite a surprise because the rent is due. It is $250 and if I didn’t somehow find the money, I would have to close the shop tomorrow.” The disciples realized that Master had sensed the vibrations of despair when he had passed the shop and had returned to help him.

Happiness lies in making others happy, in forsaking self-interest to bring joy to others.
~ Sri Paramahansa Yogananda (Source: SRF website)

A Video on Giving

Affirmation

Today I will do something for somebody. Today I will give something to a Hungry man.
~ Sri Paramahansa Yogananda

Tip for parents: Affirmation instructions

Activity – Serve Food to needy

Serve Food to needy

Tip for Parents: Visit a temple or a place where you can serve food to the needy. Tell children about how those people live and the facilities which we have but they don’t.

Please leave your feedback in the comments section below.